Tamam Shud - Evolution (LP)

Katalog: Musik
EAN: 0184923601916
Bestellnummer: 2360191
Veröffentlichung: 19.08.2016
Set-Inhalt: 1
Limitierung: Nein
Format: Vinyl LP
Verpackung: Vinyl
Genre: Rock
Label: Anthology Recordings
Anbieter: Kemado Group Inc
Preiscode: 271
Das australische Surfer-Quartett um Lindsay Bjerre nahm ihre Underground / Prog-Surf-Stücke von... mehr
Produktinformationen "Tamam Shud - Evolution (LP)"
Das australische Surfer-Quartett um Lindsay Bjerre nahm ihre Underground / Prog-Surf-Stücke von 1968 - 1972 auf. Evolution war der Soundtrack für den gleichnamigen Surf-Film.

Evolution is the name of an album and a surf film, both entwined by he very nature of the material and the musical group involved, Tamam Shud. Led by Lindsay Bjerre, the quartet of surfers-turned-musicians (or the other way around) were significant purveyors of the underground progressive music movement in Australia circa 1968 - 1972. For a group recently reborn - changing their name from The Sunsets - Paul Witzig's latest surf film was the idea vehicle to begin their recording career. Like Witzig, they too were stretching out for total creative freedom. The subsequent sessions for the film soundtrack were just that, musical experiments unrestrained by any established parameters. The approach Tamam Shud took to create the Evolution soundtrack was to have the film screened on the recording studio wall while the augmented group matched the action with sound, performing,essentially, a free-form musical jam. The end results were compelling enough to discard any concept of a narration - a standard procedure for all previous surfing films. It was a bold move on the part of Tamam Shud and filmmaker Witzig, and it paid off gloriously. The film and the subsequently released Evolution album, which contained seven more Bjerre original compositions, found substantial success, the latter even being nominated for the Major Network Award as the Best Australian Album of the year.

1. Music Train Evolution
2. I'm No One
3. Mr Strange
4. Lady Sunshine
5. Falling Up
6. Feel Free
7. It's A Beautiful Day
8. Jesus Guide Me
9. Rock On Top
10. The Slow One and the Fast One
11. Too Many Life